You Would Think this Might be the One Year......

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from BurritoT. Show BurritoT's posts

You Would Think this Might be the One Year......

2008 seems like a long time ago. I was really banking the Yankees would go flat or even fall apart this season. I really thought this would be one of those rare years, a Yankee-less play-off's; more importantly a no Yankee WS.

They are old, I have been throwing that comment at them for two years now. The biggest free agent Cliff Lee said no, the ones they did sign have been abysmal. 

AJ Burnett is having a complete meltdown, the Red Sox own Sabathia, Phil Hughes has been disappointing, and Petite is long gone. Offensively ARod has been away for a number of games and has not been the ARod of old. Posada is on his last legs, Jeter had some backlash from the fans early on, and I cannot recall the last time I saw Texiera's name in any glory headline of significance.

How in the heck is this team playing .600 ball? They have played at this level since the first week of the season.

Our players climbed out of a fairly large team-made ditch to get to where they (we) are today only to see the Yankees raise the mound a little higher.

I am not like many here, I do not want to face the Yankees in the play-offs every year.... I want them long gone and buried in the A.L basement. 

Signed -

Disheartened Red Sox fan.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from aussiewill. Show aussiewill's posts

Re: You Would Think this Might be the One Year......

You hit the nail on the head. Just as the Rex Ryan has said that someone other than the Jets have to beat the Pats, someone other than the Sox has to beat the Yankees. We own Sabathia, Mariano , we have always hit him better than any team in baseball. Texiera never hits the Sox, even Cano seems to struggle against Boston.