Whole Foods is replacing Hi-Lo Foods

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from BDCJoeAllenBlack. Show BDCJoeAllenBlack's posts

Whole Foods is replacing Hi-Lo Foods

Some are saying the coming of Whole Foods is the biggest reminder yet that the stretch of Centre Street once proposed as Boston's Latin Quarter is inexorably shrinking as gentrification advances through Hyde Square.

What do you think about this change? Is it good for the community? Will you shop at Whole Foods?

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from BD1958. Show BD1958's posts

Re: Whole Foods is replacing Hi-Lo Foods

I'm a resident of Hyde Square, and I have to say that I'm pinching myself!  I've lived in JP for over 20 years -- moved there when there was no Stop & Shop, Harvest Co-Op, City Feed, Wonder Spice, Bukhara, JP Seafood Cafe, Canary Square, James's Gate, Dogwood's, Brendan Behan, Purple Cactus, Boomerangs, Boing, Kitchen Witch, Prudential Real Estate, Wainwright Bank & Trust, Ace Hardware, Tostados, Blue Frog, The Haven, Bella Luna, Mike's Gym, Ula Cafe ... In other words, all kinds of places that many residents of JP (and visitors who love the place) feel strongly make up the fabric of our community.  Once all of these places were new, too, and many of them replaced other businesses that no longer exist.

A handful of places have aged along with me in JP, including JP Licks, Acapulco, The Same Old Place, Classic Cleaners, Blanchards, Morrion's, and Tru-Value Hardware.  The Hi-Lo is on this list, and I am sad that it is closing.  But I am excited for our community and for the energy and vitality that this new grocery store will bring to my neighborhood.  It's a good fit and it will be a joy to be able to walk to a market with such a selection of good food!

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from franko4. Show franko4's posts