THIS STORY HAS BEEN FORMATTED FOR EASY PRINTING

Mass. texting while driving ban begins Thursday

By Lyle Moran
Associated Press Writer / September 29, 2010

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Your article has been sent.

Text size +

BOSTON—Massachusetts drivers who text behind the wheel are facing a new state law with hefty fines as the state joins the nationwide move to limit distracted driving.

The new law taking effect Thursday also prohibits scanning the Internet on a phone or mobile device while driving and bans anyone under 18 from talking on a cell phone while driving. Violators will face fines ranging from $100 for a first offense and up to $500 for repeat offenses.

Officials from state tranportation and public safety agencies gathered in Weymouth on Wednesday to remind drivers about the law.

Gov. Deval Patrick said texting while behind the wheel of a car is "seriously unsafe."

Massachusetts is the 30th state to introduce a texting ban.

Connect with Boston.com

Twitter Follow us on @BostonUpdate, other Twitter accounts