NH House voting to ban abortions after 20 weeks
CONCORD, N.H.—Abortions would be prohibited on fetuses after 20 weeks gestation in New Hampshire under a bill facing a House vote.
The House could vote as early as Wednesday on the bill which also would make it a felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison for violating the proposed law. No penalty could be assessed against the mother.
Laura Thibault, interim executive director of NARAL's New Hampshire affiliate, says no elective abortions are provided in New Hampshire now beyond 20 weeks.
The bill exempts abortions to save the mother's life or avert the serious risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function. The bill also exempts abortions to save the life of the fetus.