1711 Reading farmhouse offers a warm welcome
Walk into this historic red 1711 farmhouse, past the wood-floored foyer and into the so-called great room and enjoy the warm and inviting space. This expansive room, once a carriage barn, showcases a renovated kitchen, dining, and living rooms with oak floors, tall ceilings, and original cross beams. One of the home’s two working fireplaces lines a wall and multiple windows look out to the front and back yards, which have a child’s sandbox, slate patio, chestnut trees, and a meandering picket fence.
The kitchen has a large island for cooking and dining, maple cabinets, a walk-in pantry and laundry room, slate countertops, and a deep sink. The appliances aren’t new, but the space is largely ready to be enjoyed, including an upgraded cooling and heating system.
The master bedroom is on the first floor and has the second brick fireplace as well as an attached bath that has a black and white tiled floor, two sinks, claw-foot tub, and a walk-in closet.
Upstairs there are three smaller carpeted bedrooms with built-in cabinetry and custom cross beams.
The property, called the Joseph Parker House, is known as a “half house’’ because it was originally built with the intention of expanding.
It was home to several members of the Revolutionary War who marched to Lexington and Concord, according to historical data provided by Walkable Reading. The property remained in the Parker family for almost 100 years and later was subdivided.
Marilyn Jarvis of Keller Williams Realty is the listing agent.