< Back to front page Text size +

Clarification

Posted by Amalie Benjamin  May 29, 2007 12:18 AM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

For those of you still interested in the ninth-inning play with Casey Blake, first base umpire Chuck Meriweather ruled that the ball hit Blake when Blake was going around. According to the rulebook, that means a strikeout. This was a reversal of the original ruling, which had Blake being hit by a pitch. It was what Terry Francona was arguing for when he went out to speak with the umpires.

Eric Wedge didn't quite see it that way, but the call stood, and was a huge play, giving the Sox the second out in a ninth inning that could have slipped away from them.

Just seems like all the breaks are going their way right now, doesn't it?

That's it for me. 'Night, everyone.

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

archives

browse this blog

by category