DETROIT — Here's what umpire crew chief Ted Barrett said about the call in the eighth inning today involving Daniel Nava in right field:
"To have a catch, you have to have complete control and voluntary release. [Second base umpire] Mike [DiMuro] had him with control, but did not have the voluntary release. When he flipped the ball out of his glove, he never got it into his hand. That's not voluntary release."
Is that normally the second base umpire's call? "Yes. With no one on base, that is certainly his jurisdiction"
Have you seen a replay? "Yes. He never got the ball into his hand, therefore there was no voluntary release and no catch."