< Back to front page Text size +

Umpires defend call in 8th inning

Posted by Peter Abraham, Globe Staff  June 23, 2013 05:42 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

DETROIT Here's what umpire crew chief Ted Barrett said about the call in the eighth inning today involving Daniel Nava in right field:

"To have a catch, you have to have complete control and voluntary release. [Second base umpire] Mike [DiMuro] had him with control, but did not have the voluntary release. When he flipped the ball out of his glove, he never got it into his hand. That's not voluntary release."

Is that normally the second base umpire's call? "Yes. With no one on base, that is certainly his jurisdiction"

Have you seen a replay? "Yes. He never got the ball into his hand, therefore there was no voluntary release and no catch."

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

archives

browse this blog

by category