Share

Extra Bases

David Ortiz Gets a Hit Five Days Later

yunono.jpg

Major League Baseball ruled Wednesday that David Ortiz broke up Yu Darvish's no-hit bid not once but twice in last Friday's game vs. the Texas Rangers.

Ortiz officially broke up the no-no with a single with two outs in the ninth inning, but MLB Wednesday changed the scoring of Ortiz's 7th-inning fly ball from an error to a hit. From the Dallas Morning News:

The ball fell between right fielder Alex Rios and second baseman Rougned Odor after it appeared both were converging on it, then backed off. Official scorer Steve Weller, a 20-year veteran at Rangers games, reviewed the replay several different times before ruling it an error. Weller cited rule 10.12 (a) (1) that allows for a scorer to rule a ball an error if, in the scorer’s mind, fielders using ordinary effort should have caught the ball.

Continue Reading Below