Farrell a finalist for manager of the year

John Farrell and his old friend Terry Francona are two of the three finalists for the BBWAA’s American League Manager of the Year award. Bob Melvin of the Athletics also made the cut.

The winner will be announced on Nov. 12.

Former Red Sox shortstop Jose Iglesias, now of the Tigers, is a finalist for American League Rookie of the Year. Chris Archer and Wil Myers of the Rays are the other finalists. That will be announced on Nov. 11.

All the finalists are on BBWAA.com.

Get the Globe's scoop on the Red Sox for free.
Get 108 Stitches, the Globe's free newsletter for Sox stats and analysis.
Thanks for signing up!