< Back to front page Text size +

Quartet elected as captains, Moss not

Posted by Albert Breer  September 10, 2010 11:01 AM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Patriots coach Bill Belichick just announced his captains for the 2010 season and they are QB Tom Brady, RB Kevin Faulk, NT Vince Wilfork and LB Jerod Mayo.

Two interesting points on this, and the first one is who's missing: Randy Moss. He's the only returning captain from 2009 that won't be one this year.

So read into that what you will. Sam Aiken's the other 2009 captain who isn't one now, and he's not for obvious reasons (Didn't make the team).

The second point is the lack of a special teams captain for 2010. Belichick characterized those four as the "team captains", rather than having guys designated for offense defense or special teams.

When asked if these guys were elected by straight team vote (sometimes, coaches exert veto power), he responded, "Those are the captains."
News, analysis and commentary from Boston.com's staff writers and contributors, including Zuri Berry and Erik Frenz.

NFL video

Watch Patriots analysis and commentary by CineSport

browse this blog

by category