< Back to front page Text size +

Curtis Martin among Hall of Fame finalists

Posted by Monique Walker, Globe Staff  January 9, 2011 01:29 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Former Patriots RB Curtis Martin is among the five first-year eligible players joining the 15 modern-era finalists to be considered for election into the Pro Football Hall of Fame next month.

Martin played three seasons (1995-1997) with the Patriots before establishing his career with the New York Jets (1998-2005).

The 44-member selection committee will meet on Feb. 5 to vote for the next round of inductees. To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum vote of 80 percent.

Fans can vote at www.fanschoice.com. Here is the complete list of nominees, which includes two senior nominees:

-- RB Jerome Bettis:1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
-- WR/KR Tim Brown: 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
-- WR Cris Carter: 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
-- C Dermontti Dawson: 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers
-- DE Richard Dent:: 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles
-- DE/LB Chris Doleman: 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers
-- RB Marshall Faulk: 1994-98 Indianapolis Colts, 1999-2005 St. Louis Rams
-- DE/LB Charles Haley: 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
-- LB Chris Hanburger: 1965-1978 Washington Redskins
-- DT Cortez Kennedy: 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks
-- RB Curtis Martin: 1995-97 New England Patriots, 1998-2005 New York Jets
-- WR Andre Reed: 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
-- LB Les Richter: 1954-1962 Los Angeles Rams
-- T Willie Roaf: 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs
-- Founder/President/Chairman Ed Sabol: 1964-1995 NFL Films
-- CB Deion Sanders: 1989-1993 Atlanta Falcons, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1995-99 Dallas Cowboys, 2000 Washington Redskins, 2004-05 Baltimore Ravens
-- TE Shannon Sharpe: 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens

News, analysis and commentary from Boston.com's staff writers and contributors, including Zuri Berry and Erik Frenz.

NFL video

Watch Patriots analysis and commentary by CineSport

browse this blog

by category