< Back to front page Text size +

McCourty, Ninkovich named captains with Wilfork and Mayo out

Posted by Shalise Manza Young, Globe Staff  October 18, 2013 02:31 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

FOXBOROUGH -- The Patriots announced that Devin McCourty and Rob Ninkovich have been named team captains for the remainder of this season.

With both of the defensive players who were named captains at the start of the season -- Vince Wilfork and Jerod Mayo -- on injured reserve, the team needed players who will be available every day and on game day to step in.

McCourty was voted a captain in 2011 and '12, though curiously he was not a captain again to start this season.

This is the first time Ninkovich has served as a captain for New England, though it is a well-earned honor for a player who has worked his way up from afterthought to special teamer to consistent contributor.

Tom Brady, Logan Mankins, and Matthew Slater are the other Patriots captains.

News, analysis and commentary from Boston.com's staff writers and contributors, including Zuri Berry and Erik Frenz.

NFL video

Watch Patriots analysis and commentary by CineSport

browse this blog

by category