< Back to front page Text size +

NFL rule 9-1-3 on defensive formations on kicks

Posted by Matt Pepin, Boston.com Staff  October 20, 2013 05:11 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Here's the exact language of the rule in the 2013 NFL Official Playing Rules that led to the Patriots' 30-27 loss to the Jets on Sunday.

Patriots defensive lineman Chris Jones was called for pushing a teammate during a 56-yard field goal attempt by the Jets in overtime. The 15-yard penalty gave the Jets a first down (the kick was wide), and they then hit a game-winning field goal from 42 yards.

It is Rule 9, Section 1, Article 3 of the official NFL rules.

Article 3:
Defensive Team Formation
(a) When Team A presents a punt, field-goal, or Try Kick formation, a Team B player, who is within one yard of the line of scrimmage, must have his entire body outside the snapper’s shoulder pads at the snap.
(b) When Team A presents a field-goal or Try Kick formation:
(1) No more than six Team B players may be on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper at the snap; and
Note: These restrictions do not apply if a team does not present a standard punt, field goal, or Try Kick formation (an equal number of players on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper in a tight formation), or if, after the offensive team has assumed a set position, there is a shift, or a player goes in motion.
Penalty: For illegal formation by the defense: Loss of five yards.

(2) Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into the offensive formation.
Penalty: For unnecessary roughness: Loss of 15 yards.

News, analysis and commentary from Boston.com's staff writers and contributors, including Zuri Berry and Erik Frenz.

NFL video

Watch Patriots analysis and commentary by CineSport

browse this blog

by category
archives