THIS STORY HAS BEEN FORMATTED FOR EASY PRINTING

Pettersson docked 2 shots on 1st hole

Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland watches his drive from the seventh tee as fans watch from the trees during the third round of the PGA Championship golf tournament on the Ocean Course of the Kiawah Island Golf Resort in Kiawah Island, S.C., Saturday, Aug. 11, 2012. Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland watches his drive from the seventh tee as fans watch from the trees during the third round of the PGA Championship golf tournament on the Ocean Course of the Kiawah Island Golf Resort in Kiawah Island, S.C., Saturday, Aug. 11, 2012. (AP Photo/Evan Vucci)
August 12, 2012
Text size +
  • E-mail
  • E-mail this article

    Invalid E-mail address
    Invalid E-mail address

    Sending your article

    Your article has been sent.

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C.—Carl Pettersson was assessed a two-shot penalty in the final round of the PGA Championship because a leaf moved on the opening hole.

Pettersson, three shots out of the lead to start the final round Sunday, drove just inside a hazard on the first hole. He made sure he could touch the grass with his club, as long as he didn't ground the club. He played out to the middle of the green, and PGA rules official Brad Gregory told him there might have been a violation.

After a lengthy video review, the PGA of America said a leaf moved as Pettersson took the club back. That's a violation of Rules 13-4c for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.

Pettersson was not notified until he left the fourth tee. He birdied his next two holes.

  • E-mail
  • E-mail this article

    Invalid E-mail address
    Invalid E-mail address

    Sending your article

    Your article has been sent.