Paul MacLean wins Jack Adams Award

This is a summary. To read the whole story subscribe to

Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators won the Jack Adams Award, given to the NHL’s coach of the year, on Friday as the league announced various award winners.

The top executive honor went to Pittsburgh Penguins general manager Ray Shero. The Lady Byng trophy for the NHL’s most sportsmanlike player was given to Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis for the third time in four seasons.

‘‘I don’t think you start the season thinking you’re going to win the Lady Byng, but all in all, you just try to push the envelope without getting caught, I guess,’’ St. Louis said.

Full story for subscribers.

Get the full story with unlimited access to

Just 99 cents for four weeks.