Twenty-eight years after the Pine Tar Incident, McClelland made headlines again with blown calls, this time during a playoff game between the Yankees and Los Angeles Angels. During the fifth inning of Game 4 of the 2009 American League Championship Series, Angels reliever Darren Oliver was facing outfielder Nick Swisher, with Jorge Posada on third and Robinson Cano on second. Swisher hit a comebacker to Oliver, who immediately threw home to put Posada in a rundown. Posada overran the third base bag trying to get back. While all this was going on, Cano sprinted to third, but when Posada made his way back to third, Cano stopped short of the bag. Catcher Mike Napoli tagged both while they were off the bag. For whatever reason, McClelland only called Posada out and Cano was allowed to remain at third. Luckily for the Angels, no runs scored in the inning as Oliver retired Melky Cabrera, who was the next hitter. In that same game, McClelland ruled that Swisher left third too early on a sacrifice fly in the fourth inning. Replays showed that he didn't. After the game, McClelland admitted his mistake on the Cano/Posada snafu but had this to say about Swisher: "I'm not sure I believe the replay, because in my heart I had him leaving too soon, but the replays showed that he didn't," McClelland said.