THIS STORY HAS BEEN FORMATTED FOR EASY PRINTING

US team kicks over this result

Japan's Kitajima said to cheat with move

August 16, 2004

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Your article has been sent.

  • E-mail|
  • Print|
  • Reprints|
  • |
Text size +

Did Japan's Kosuke Kitajima break the rules when he beat world record-holder Brendan Hansen by 17-100ths of a second in yesterday's Olympic 100-meter breaststroke? Absolutely, insisted Hansen's US teammates, who claimed Kitajima routinely uses the illegal dolphin kick. (Full Article: 284 Words)

This article is available in our archives:

Globe Subscribers

FREE for subscribers

Subscribers to the Boston Globe get unlimited access to our archives.

Not a subscriber?

Non-Subscribers

Purchase an electronic copy of the full article. Learn More

  • $4.95 1 Article
  • $9.95 4 Articles
  • $99.95 Unlimited
Follow Boston.com Sports on Facebook