Institute of Politics announces new fellows

Keep an eye out for them on campus.

Antonio Villaraigosa
Antonio Villaraigosa –Jae C. Hong / AP / file

The Institute of Politics at Harvard Kennedy School announced its new slate of fall fellows in a video the organization tweeted on Monday.

The five resident fellows, who remain on campus for the duration of the semester, come from a variety of backgrounds, including journalism and public office.

They include: Journalist Margaret Talev, a senior White House correspondent for Bloomberg and a CNN political analyst, who served as president of the White House Correspondents Association; Amy Dacey, former CEO of the Democratic National Committee and former executive director of Emily’s List; activist Brittany Packnett, the vice president of national community alliances for Teach for America and cofounder of Campaign Zero, which is focused on solutions to ending police violence, according to the organization’s website.


Retired politician Joseph J. Heck is the only former congressman among this year’s fellows. A physician and former US representative for Nevada’s third district, Heck was also a brigadier general in the US Army. John Noonan, currently a senior defense adviser for Senator Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), previously advised 2016 presidential candidate Jeb Bush on issues of national security and served as a defense policy adviser to Mitt Romney during Romney’s 2012 presidential campaign.

All three visiting fellows this fall are former mayors: Antonio Villaraigosa of Los Angeles; Mitchell “Mitch’’ Landrieu of New Orleans; and Michael Nutter of Philadelphia. They will co-lead a study group on Politics, Potholes, and Public Service, according to the Institute’s website.