John Legend to perform at Tanglewood this summer

The EGOT winner will be one of the final acts of the season as part of Tanglewood's Popular Artist lineup.

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - JANUARY 26: John Legend performs onstage during the 62nd Annual GRAMMY Awards at Staples Center on January 26, 2020 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)
John Legend performs at the 62nd Annual Grammy Awards at Staples Center on January 26, 2020. –Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images

Tanglewood will welcome a Legend to the Shed this summer — literally.

Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony Award-winning performer John Legend has been added to Tanglewood’s 2020 Popular Artist lineup. He will play a set at the Lenox venue on Friday, Aug. 28 as part of his Bigger Love 2020 tour, along with concerts at Foxwoods in Connecticut on Saturday, Aug. 29 and Rockland Trust Pavilion in Boston on Monday, Aug. 31.

Legend, who recently performed at the 2020 Grammy Awards, last played in Massachusetts in 2018 when he stopped by the Wang Theatre as part of his “Legendary Christmas” tour.

Legend joins previously announced acts including Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band, who play Friday, June 19; Phish vocalist Trey Anastasio performing with the Boston Pops on Saturday, June 20; Judy Collins and Arlo Guthrie on Sunday, June 21; Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Brandi Carlile making her Tanglewood debut on Friday, June 26; The Mavericks with Los Lobos performing on Sunday, June 28; James Taylor and his All-Star Band, who will play for Tanglewood for a 29th time on Saturday, July 4; and a live taping of NPR’s popular quiz show “Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me” on Thursday, Aug. 27.

Advertisement

Tickets for the full Tanglewood 2020 season, which runs from Friday, June 19, to Sunday, Aug. 30, will go on sale at 10 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 9, through tanglewood.org or by calling 888-266-1200. The one exception is Legend’s show, for which tickets will be available starting at 10 a.m. Monday, Feb. 24.

Jump To Comments