Jayson Tatum, Brad Stevens named finalists for NBA awards

The voting was completed by a panel of media members.

Brad Stevens
Brad Stevens crafts a play during a timeout in the first quarter. –AP Photo/Charles Krupa

Celtics forward Jayson Tatum has been named a Rookie of the Year finalist and coach Brad Stevens has been named a Coach of the Year finalist, the NBA announced Wednesday night.

Tatum is considered a long shot likely to come in third behind the two other finalists: 76ers guard Ben Simmons and Jazz guard Donovan Mitchell. This season, Tatum averaged 13.9 points and 5 rebounds per game while making 47.5 percent of his shots.

Stevens, who guided Boston to a 55-win regular season despite a season-ending injury to Gordon Hayward and extended absences of other players such as Kyrie Irving and Marcus Smart, was named a finalist along with former Raptors coach Dwane Casey and Jazz coach Quin Snyder. Casey, who already has been named the National Basketball Coaches Association’s coach of the year, was fired by Toronto last week.


The league also announced finalists for MVP (Anthony Davis, James Harden, LeBron James), Sixth Man of the Year (Eric Gordon, Fred VanVleet, Lou Williams), Defensive Player of the Year (Davis, Joel Embiid, Rudy Gobert), and Most Improved Player (Clint Capela, Spencer Dinwiddie, Victor Oladipo). The voting was completed by a panel of media members. The winners will be announced at the league’s annual awards ceremony, which will be held on June 25 in Los Angeles and broadcast on TNT.


Get the latest breaking news sent directly to your phone. Download our free app.
'I'm kind of dumbfounded'
June 14, 2019 | 8:47 AM