2013 Boston Marathon guide and race information

Runners approach the finish line in the 2012 Boston Marathon. (John Tlumacki/Globe Staff)
Runners approach the finish line in the 2012 Boston Marathon. (John Tlumacki/Globe Staff) –The Boston Globe

The 117th Boston Marathon will take place on Monday, April 15, 2013. Here are some facts and figures you’ll want to know for running’s most epic race day of the year.

Distance: 26.2 miles.

Why 26.2? At the 1908 Summer Olympics in London, the marathon distance was changed from 24 miles to 26.2 to cover the ground from Windsor Castle to White City Stadium, thus accommodating the royal family’s viewing box. After 16 years of debate, the distance was ruled official at the 1924 Summer Olympics in Paris.

The course: The point-to-point route extends from Hopkinton to Boston, ending at the famous finish line on Boylston Street in front of the Boston Public Library.


Start times:

Mobility Impaired: 9 a.m.

Wheelchair Division: 9:17 a.m.

Handcycles: 9:22 a.m.

Elite Women: 9:32 a.m.

Elite Men & Wave One: 10 a.m.

Wave Two: 10:20 a.m.

Wave Three: 10:40 a.m.

Race day road closures

Hopkinton: Closes at 7 a.m., reopens at 1 p.m.

Ashland: Closes at 7:30 a.m., reopens at 1 p.m.

Framingham: Closes at 8:45 a.m., reopens at 1:30 p.m.

Natick: Closes at 8:45 a.m., reopens at 2 p.m.

Wellesley: Closes at 8:45 a.m., reopens at 2:30 p.m.

Newton: Closes at 9 a.m., reopens at 3:30 p.m.

Brookline: Closes at 9:30 a.m., reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Boston: Closing times vary, reopens at 6 p.m.

Defending champions

Sharon Cherop and Wesley Korir, both of Kenya, will both defend their titles. In 2012, Korir finished in 2 hours 12 minutes 40 seconds. Cherop finished in 2:31:50.

Who’s running?

Elite Americans: Men — Abdi Abdirahman, Meb Keflezighi, Jason Hartmann, Fernando Cabada; Women — Shalane Flanagan, Kara Goucher, Serena Burla, Stephanie Rothstein-Bruce, Alissa McKaig.

Elite Internationals: Men — Gebregziabher Gebremariam (Ethiopia), Markos Geneti (Ethiopia), Levy Matebo (Kenya), Dickson Chumba (Kenya), Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (Kenya), Wesley Korir (Kenya), Raji Assefa (Ethiopia), Jeffrey Hunt (Australia), Guor Marial (South Sudan), Robin Watson (Canada), Micah Kogo (Kenya); Women — Meseret Hailu Debele (Ethiopia), Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia), Rita Jeptoo (Kenya), Sharon Cherop (Kenya), Madai Perez (Mexico), Alemita Abera Begna (Ethiopia), Tetiana Gamera-Shmyrko (Ukraine), Ana Dulce Felix (Portugal), Yolanda Cabellero (Colombia), Sabrina Mockenhaupt (Germany), Diana Chepkemoi Sigel (Kenya), Rene Kalmer (South Africa), Diane Nukuri-Johnson (Burundi).


Marathon Expo/Bib pickup

Location: Hynes Convention Center (900 Boylston St.)

Hours: Friday, April 12 2-7 p.m.; Saturday, April 13 9 a.m.–6 p.m.; Sunday, April 14 9 a.m.–6 p.m.

Admission: Free

Loading Comments...