Boston Marathon

Boston Marathon 2016 winners list


Women's winner Atsede Baysa of Ethiopa and men's winner Lemi Berhanu Hayle of Ethiopia pose at the finish line after winning the 120th Boston Marathon on April 18, 2016. Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

The finish line on Boylston Street has been reached. The tape has been broken.

The 2016 Boston Marathon brought a historic sweep for Ethiopia in the men’s and women’s races as well as a pair of repeat champions in the wheelchair divisions.

Check out the list of high-profile winners below:

Men’s division: Lemi Berhanu Hayle of Ethiopia won his first Boston Marathon in an unofficial time of 2 hours, 12 minutes, 45 seconds. The 21-year-old pulled away from defending men’s champion Lelisa Desisa late in the race.

Women’s division: Atsede Baysa of Ethiopia won her first Boston Marathon in an unofficial time of 2:29:19. She overcame a 37-second deficit in the final five miles.


Women’s wheelchair division: Tatyana McFadden of the United States won her fourth straight Boston Marathon with an unofficial time of 1:42:16.

Men’s wheelchair division: Marcel Hug of Switzerland won his second straight Boston Marathon with an unofficial time of 1:24:1. He edged Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa and Kurt Fearnley of Australia in a dramatic finish.

Boston Marathon 2016


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on