Boston Marathon

Marcel Hug wins second consecutive Boston Marathon men’s wheelchair division

Marcel Hug crosses the finish line ahead of Kurt Fearnley, center, and Ernst Van Dyk, right, to win the men's wheelchair division of the 120th Boston Marathon. Brian Snyder/Reuters

Defending champion Marcel Hug surged ahead of 10-time winner Ernst Van Dyk and Kurt Fearnley on Boylston Street to win his second consecutive Boston Marathon in the men’s wheelchair division.

Hug, of Switzerland, crossed the finish line in 1:24:01, one second ahead of South Africa’s Ernst Van Dyk, 1:24:02, and two seconds ahead of Australia’s Kurt Fearnley, 1:24:03. Hug won with a time of 1:29:53 in 2015.


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on