Red Sox

Game 123 Lineups and Notes: Joe Kelly Makes Fenway Park Debut, Dustin Pedroia Sits

Red Sox pitcher Joe Kelly will make his Fenway Park debut after being acquired from the St. Louis Cardinals. Joe Robbins / Getty Images

Joe Kelly will make his Fenway Park debut for the Red Sox, his 10th start of the season and third since being acquired by the Sox, against the Houston Astros in the final game of a four-game series.

The Sox lead the Astros 2-1 in the series after Saturday’s 10-7 win.

Dustin Pedroia, who returned to the Red Sox lineup Saturday after being pulled Friday due to a sore foot, will sit again Sunday on his 31st birthday. He will be replaced at second base by utility man Brock Holt.

Here are today’s lineups and notes:

RED SOX (56-66)
1. Brock Holt 2B
2. Daniel Nava RF
3. David Ortiz DH
4. Yoenis Cespedes LF
5. Kelly Johnson 1B
6. Xander Bogaerts SS
7. Will Middlebrooks 3B
8. Jackie Bradley Jr. CF
9. Dan Butler C
SP: Joe Kelly RHP (0-0, 2.08 ERA)


ASTROS (51-73)
1. Robbie Grossman RF
2. Jose Altuve 2B
3. Chris Carter DH
4. Dexter Fowler CF
5. Jon Singleton 1B
6. Carlos Corporan C
7. Marc Krauss LF
8. Matt Dominguez 3B
9. Marwin Gonzalez SS
SP: Collin McHugh RHP (5-9, 3.08 ERA)

Game time: 1:35 p.m.

TV/Radio: NESN / WEEI 93.7 FM, WCCM 1110 AM (Spanish)

Notes: In Joe Kelly’s last start for the Sox, he gave up two runs in 6.0 innings of work in a non-decision victory over the Cincinnati Reds. This is his first ever start against the Astros. He has made two relief appearances against Houston, with 1.1 innings of work allowing no runs, two hits, and striking out two batters. .. Brock Holt is on a 10-game hitting streak (13 for 45) which matches an earlier streak of the same length between May 31st and June 10th. Holt is tied with Xander Bogaerts, A.J. Pierzynski, and David Ortiz who have each had 10-game hitting streaks for the Sox. .. On this day in Red Sox history, Jimmie Foxx hit a home run in a club record fifth straight game on Aug. 17, 1940. The feat has since been repeated by Ted Williams (1957), Dick Stuart (1963), George Scott (1977), and Jose Canseco (1995).


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on