Red Sox

Kevin Youkilis, Derek Lowe among first-timers on 2019 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

"#Blessed #Honored."

Kevin Youkilis
Former Red Sox player Kevin Youkilis throws out the ceremonial first pitch prior to Game 1 of the 2018 ALCS. Photo by Omar Rawlings/Getty Images

A pair of former Red Sox could be headed to Cooperstown.

Retired first baseman Kevin Youkilis and retired right-handed pitcher Derek Lowe both were included on the 2019 Baseball Hall of Ballot that was released Monday. Youkilis and Lowe, two members of the 2004 World Series team, were also inducted into the Red Sox Hall of Fame earlier this year.

“Don’t let anyone stop you from pursuing your dreams in life!!!” Youkilis tweeted following the announcement Monday. “Never would I have ever dreamed about making this list but hard work, drive and a love for the game allowed me to be included with so many amazing MLB⁩ peers. #Blessed #Honored.”


Youkilis — a three-time All-Star and 2007 Gold Glove recipient — played eight seasons with the Red Sox and finished his 10-year career with a .281 batting average. Lowe — a two-time All-Star — also played eight seasons in Boston. He was the AL saves leader as a member of the Red Sox in 2000 and the NL wins leader as a member of the L.A. Dodgers in 2006.

In order to be elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame, a player must receive votes on 75 percent of the ballots cast. The results will be announced on Jan. 22, and any electees will be inducted on July 21 at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown.

Youkilis and Lowe will face some steep competition.

Also making their ballot debut this year are Rick Ankiel, Jason Bay, Lance Berkman, Freddy Garcia, Jon Garland, Travis Hafner, Roy Halladay, Todd Helton, Ted Lilly, Darren Oliver, Roy Oswalt, Andy Pettitte, Juan Pierre, Placido Polanco, Mariano Rivera, Miguel Tejada, Vernon Wells, and Michael Young.

15 players who received at least five percent of the overall vote in 2018 will appear on the ballot as well. Among the returnees are former Red Sox pitcher Curt Schilling (seventh year) and former Red Sox outfielder Manny Ramirez (third year). They can earn election to the Hall of Fame by receiving votes on 75 percent of all ballots cast. Schilling has garnered 51.2 percent, while Ramirez stands at 22 percent. Players can return to the ballot for a maximum of 10 years.