Updated salary breakdown

With Petteri Nokelainen in the fold (two years, $1.7 million), here is the current salary grid detailing each player’s annual cap hit:


Marc Savard, $5 million
Patrice Bergeron, $4.75 million
Glen Murray, $4.15 million
Marco Sturm, $3.5 million
Chuck Kobasew, $2.33 million
Phil Kessel, $2.2 million
Peter Schaefer, $2.1 million
P.J. Axelsson, $1.85 million
David Krejci, $883,000
Petteri Nokelainen, $850,000
Milan Lucic, $850,000
Vladimir Sobotka, $750,000
Shawn Thornton, $517,000
Jeremy Reich, $487,500.

* Glen Murray was not bought out by yesterday’s deadline. However, the buyout option remains in play for 48 hours after the conclusion of Dennis Wideman’s expected arbitration case, unless the sides can agree to a deal prior to a hearing.


* Blake Wheeler is expected to sign a two-year entry-level contract sometime after free agency opens today. Wheeler will earn a base salary of $875,000 and will also make an unspecified amount in bonuses. Wheeler, however, will most likely start his pro career in Providence.


Zdeno Chara, $7.5 million
Aaron Ward, $2.5 million
Andrew Ference, $1.4 million
Mark Stuart, $1.3 million
Andrew Alberts, $1.25 million
Shane Hnidy, $757,000

* Yet to sign: Dennis Wideman (RFA).

* Matt Lashoff and Matt Hunwick will contend for NHL jobs next year. But for this model, their salaries are not included.


Manny Fernandez, $4.33 million
Tim Thomas, $1.1 million

* It’s a good bet that Alex Auld (UFA) will not re-sign. Tuukka Rask will most likely spend another season in Providence.

Current cap hit: $50,311,666

Notes: The 2008-09 cap set at $56.7 million. Each team can go as high as $62.37 million (10 percent over the ceiling) as long as that number dips below $56.7 million by the start of the season.

Loading Comments...