Bruins Blog

Zdeno Chara, Tim Thomas chosen for NHL All-Star game


Zdeno Chara (left) and Tim Thomas (center) will be in the NHL All-Star Game while Tyler Seguin (right) will compete in the SuperSkills competition.

Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara and goalie Tim Thomas have been selected for the NHL All-Star Game Jan. 30 in Raleigh, NC.

Forward Tyler Seguin was chosen to be one of 12 rookies who will participate in the SuperSkills Competition.

Chara leads the Bruins in ice time average (26:38). He has six goals and 12 assists. Thomas is 18-4 this season and leads the NHL in three categories — goals-against average (1.84), shutouts (5), and save percentage (.944). Seguin has six goals and eight assists.


The NHL All-Star teams will be chosen Jan. 28 using a new format. Team captains will be chosen, and they’ll pick their sides from the pool of players chosen to participate.

The 42 players were chosen as follows:

Chosen by fan vote
Forwards Sidney Crosby, Jonathan Toews and Evgeni Malkin; defensemen Kris Letang and Duncan Keith; and goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury

Chosen by NHL Hockey Operations Department
Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks, Jarome Iginla – Calgary Flames, Eric Staal
– Carolina Hurricanes, Patrick Kane – Chicago Blackhawks, Patrick Sharp – Chicago Blackhawks, Matt Duchene – Colorado Avalanche, Rick Nash – Columbus Blue Jackets, Loui Eriksson – Dallas Stars, Brad Richards – Dallas Stars, Ales Hemsky – Edmonton Oilers, Anze Kopitar – Los Angeles Kings, Patrik Elias – New Jersey Devils, Claude Giroux – Philadelphia Flyers, David Backes – St. Louis Blues, Steven Stamkos – Tampa Bay Lightning, Martin St. Louis – Tampa Bay Lightning, Phil Kessel – Toronto Maple Leafs, Ryan Kesler – Vancouver Canucks, Henrik Sedin – Vancouver Canucks, D
aniel Sedin – Vancouver Canucks, Alex Ovechkin – Washington Capitals

Defensemen: Dustin Byfuglien – Atlanta Thrashers, Tobias Enstrom – Atlanta Thrashers, Zdeno Chara – Boston Bruins, Nicklas Lidstrom – Detroit Red Wings, Brent Burns – Minnesota Wild, Shea Weber – Nashville Predators, Marc Staal – New York Rangers, Erik Karlsson – Ottawa Senators, Dan Boyle – San Jose Sharks, Mike Green – Washington Capitals


Goalies: Jonas Hiller – Anaheim Ducks, Tim Thomas – Boston Bruins, Cam Ward –
Carolina Hurricanes, Carey Price – Montreal Canadiens , Henrik Lundqvist – New York Rangers

Rookies: Cam Fowler – Anaheim Ducks, Tyler Seguin – Boston Bruins, Tyler Ennis – Buffalo Sabres, Jeff Skinner – Carolina Hurricanes, Kevin Shattenkirk – Colorado Avalanche, Jordan Eberle – Edmonton Oilers, Taylor Hall – Edmonton Oilers, Evgeny Dadonov – Florida Panthers, Michael Grabner – New York Islanders, Derek Stepan – New York Rangers, Oliver Ekman-Larsson – Phoenix Coyotes, Logan Couture – San Jose Sharks


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on