NHL 13 cover vote pits Rask vs. Seguin


Video game maker Electronic Arts announced this morning that the player picked for the cover of its NHL 13 game will be determined by a fan vote, similar to the ongoing vote for the NFL 13 game.

Two players from each team go head-to-head in a play-in round, with winners advancing to a bracket-style tournament that will include two wild-card picks by EA.

For the Bruins, it’s forward Tyler Seguin vs. backup goalie Tuukka Rask in the play-in round. Why Rask was picked over starter Tim Thomas is a bit of a mystery. Could EA be hedging against the possibility Thomas won’t be a Bruin next season? It’s also possible rising stars were given preference.


Here’s what an EA spokesman said via email this morning:

“EA Sports approached several players about being involved in the first ever EA Sports NHL Cover Vote for NHL 13. The 60 players that were selected are all top-tier NHL players, have shown enthusiasm for the EA Sports NHL franchise, and are passionate for gaming and eager to be the face of NHL 13.”

Voting is being conducted online.

Here’s the players chosen for the other teams:
Eastern Conference
Canadiens: P.K. Subban vs. Tomas Plekanec
Capitals: John Carlson vs. Brooks Laich
Devils: Ilya Kovalchuk vs. Adam Larsson
Flyers: Claude Giroux vs. Scott Hartnell
Hurricanes: Eric Staal vs. Jeff Skinner
Islanders: John Tavares vs. Michael Grabner
Jets: Evander Kane vs. Andrew Ladd
Lightning: Steven Stamkos vs. Victor Hedman
Maple Leafs: Phil Kessel vs. Tyler Bozak
Panthers: Stephen Weiss vs. Tomas Fleischmann
Penguins: Evgeni Malkin vs. Marc-Andre Fleury
Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist vs. Brad Richards
Sabres: Derek Roy vs. Thomas Vanek
Senators: Erik Karlsson vs. Jason Spezza

Western Conference
Avalanche: Matt Duchene vs. Gabriel Landeskog
Blackhawks: Patrick Sharp vs. Duncan Keith
Blue Jackets: R.J. Umberger vs. Ryan Johansen
Blues: T.J. Oshie vs. David Perron
Canucks: Henrik Sedin vs. Alex Burrows
Coyotes: Shane Doan vs. Keith Yandle
Ducks: Corey Perry vs. Jonas Hiller
Flames: Mikael Backlund vs. Matt Stajan
Kings: Anze Kopitar vs. Drew Doughty
Oilers: Jordan Eberle vs. Taylor Hall
Predators: David Legwand vs. Pekka Rinne
Red Wings: Pavel Datsyuk vs. Jimmy Howard
Sharks: Logan Couture vs. Brent Burns
Stars: Loui Eriksson vs. Jamie Benn
Wild: Mikko Koivu vs. Niklas Backstrom

Loading Comments...