Game 1 preview: Rangers at Bruins

Good morning from TD Garden, where the Bruins will kick off the second round against the Rangers tonight.

The Bruins could be without three defensemen for Game 1: Dennis Seidenberg, Andrew Ference, and Wade Redden. Neither Seidenberg nor Ference practiced Wednesday. Redden took a quick spin, but did not stay on the ice for most of the session.

Matt Bartkowski, Dougie Hamilton, and Torey Krug will have to assume blue-line responsibilities if any or all of the regulars are out.

Puck drop: 7:30 p.m.

TV/radio info: NBC Sports Network, 98.5 The Sports Hub (Dave Goucher, Bob Beers)


Records: Rangers 0-0, Bruins 0-0

Projected Rangers lineup:

Mats Zuccarello-Derick Brassard-Rick Nash
Carl Hagelin-Derek Stepan-Ryan Callahan
Taylor Pyatt-Brian Boyle-Derek Dorsett
Chris Kreider-Brad Richards-Arron Asham

Ryan McDonagh-Dan Girardi
Michael Del Zotto-Anton Stralman
Steve Eminger-John Moore

Henrik Lundqvist
Martin Biron

Healthy scratches: Micheal Haley, Roman Hamrlik, Matt Gilroy

Projected Bruins lineup:

Milan Lucic-David Krejci-Nathan Horton
Brad Marchand-Patrice Bergeron-Jaromir Jagr
Rich Peverley-Chris Kelly-Tyler Seguin
Daniel Paille-Gregory Campbell-Shawn Thornton

Zdeno Chara-Dougie Hamilton
Matt Bartkowski-Johnny Boychuk
Torey Krug-Adam McQuaid

Tuukka Rask
Anton Khudobin

Healthy scratches: Aaron Johnson, Kaspars Daugavins, Carl Soderberg, Jay Pandolfo

Storylines: Ryan McDonagh and Dan Girardi will most likely be matched against the Bruins’ top line of Milan Lucic, David Krejci, and Nathan Horton. In turn, Zdeno Chara should be seeing most of his shifts against Rick Nash… The Rangers only scored on two of their 28 power-play chances in the first round against Toronto (7.1 percent)… Jaromir Jagr played for the Rangers for parts of four seasons. Girardi, Henrik Lundqvist, Marc Staal, and Ryan Callahan were Jagr’s teammates… Kay Whitmore is the series supervisor. Whitmore was the supervisor for the Bruins-Leafs series… Chris Rooney and Brad Meier will be the referees. Scott Driscoll and Derek Amell will be the linesmen.

Loading Comments...