Game 1 preview: Bruins at Blackhawks

CHICAGO – Good morning from the United Center, where the Bruins and Blackhawks will kick off the Stanley Cup Final tonight.

The Bruins are not expected to make any lineup changes from Game 4 against Pittsburgh. The Blackhawks introduced new lines in practice Tuesday.

Puck drop: 8 p.m. ET

TV/radio info: NBC (Mike Emrick, Ed Olczyk, Pierre McGuire), 98.5 The Sports Hub (Dave Goucher, Bob Beers)

Records: Bruins 0-0, Blackhawks 0-0

Projected Blackhawks lineup:

Patrick Sharp-Jonathan Toews-Marian Hossa
Bryan Bickell-Michal Handzus-Patrick Kane
Andrew Shaw-Dave Bolland-Brandon Saad
Brandon Bollig-Marcus Kruger-Michael Frolik

Duncan Keith-Brent Seabrook
Niklas Hjalmarsson-Johnny Oduya
Nick Leddy-Michal Rozsival


Corey Crawford
Ray Emery

Healthy scratches: Daniel Carcillo, Jamal Mayers, Viktor Stalberg, Ben Smith, Ryan Stanton

Projected Bruins lineup:

Milan Lucic-David Krejci-Nathan Horton
Brad Marchand-Patrice Bergeron-Jaromir Jagr
Kaspars Daugavins-Rich Peverley-Tyler Seguin
Daniel Paille-Chris Kelly-Shawn Thornton

Zdeno Chara-Dennis Seidenberg
Andrew Ference-Johnny Boychuk
Torey Krug-Adam McQuaid

Tuukka Rask
Anton Khudobin

Healthy scratches: Matt Bartkowski, Dougie Hamilton, Wade Redden, Aaron Johnson, Carl Soderberg, Jay Pandolfo, Jordan Caron

Storylines: It remains to be seen how the Bruins will deploy Zdeno Chara and Dennis Seidenberg. If Tuesday’s lines stick, it’s possible that Chara and Seidenberg will play against Chicago’s top line of Patrick Sharp, Jonathan Toews, and Marian Hossa. The Toews line would also draw the Bruins’ first threesome of Milan Lucic, David Krejci, and Nathan Horton. It would be up to Andrew Ference and Johnny Boychuk to play against Patrick Kane’s line. Patrice Bergeron’s trio would also play against Kane… Both teams are clicking on the penalty kill. Chicago has killed 94.8 percent of opposing power plays. The Bruins were 15 for 15 against Pittsburgh in the Eastern Conference Final… Chris Rooney and Brad Watson will be the referees. Shane Heyer and Brian Murphy will be the linesmen.

Loading Comments...