NHL Awards Roundup: Patrice Bergeron, Tuukka Rask Take Home Hardware

bergeron selke.jpg
Patrice Bergeron left Las Vegas on Tuesday after winning the Selke Trophy for the second time in three seasons. Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

The 2013-14 NHL Awards Ceremony took place on Tuesday in Las Vegas and the Bruins were well represented, with three members of the Black and Gold finalists for major awards.

The Bruins first win went to Patrice Bergeron, as the B’s center won the Selke Trophy as the league’s best defensive forward. He won the award totaling 1,283 points, easily beating out second place Anze Kopitar’s 840 and third place Jonathan Toews, who had 624.

Bergeron led the NHL in faceoff wins with 1,015 and his plus/minus rating of +38 was a career high. His offense numbers weren’t too shabby either, scoring 30 goals and 32 assists, and his 62 points were second on the team to David Krejci’s 69.


Bergeron added to his hardware later in the night, as in addition to the Selke he won the NHL Foundation Player award for community service. He also finished fifth overall in voting for the Hart Trophy as league MVP.
Later on in the evening, Tuukka Rask won the Vezina Trophy as the best goaltender in the NHL. His 103 points, including 16 first place votes, were 13 points above second place Semyon Varlamov. Third place Ben Bishop was well behind with 32 points.
Rask led the league in shutouts this past season with seven, while his 2.04 GAA, .930 save percentage, and 36 wins were all in the top-5 league wide. This was the third Vezina won by a Bruins player in the last six seasons, as Tim Thomas won it in 2009 and 2011.
Zdeno Chara was named a finalist for the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s top defenseman for the sixth time. He would not share the same luck as Bergeron and Rask, however, as Chicago’s Duncan Keith took the award with 1,033 points, including 68 first place votes. Chara finished second with 667 points, including 21 first place votes, 29 points ahead of third place Shea Weber.
Other winners on the night included Sidney Crosby winning the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP; Nathan MacKinnon winning the Calder Memorial Trophy as the Rookie of the Year; Ryan O’Reilly winning the Lady Byng Trophy; Andrew Ference awarded the King Clancy Trophy; Dominic Moore winning the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy; and Patrick Roy winning the Jack Adams Award as the league’s top coach.

Loading Comments...