Officials for Game 4 assigned

Scott Foster, Eddie F. Rush and Greg Willard have been assigned to referee tonight’s Game 4 of the NBA Finals between the Celtics and Lakers at TD Garden.

Rush is the referee who gave Celtics center Kendrick Perkins a technical foul for arguing a foul call in Game 5 of the Eastern Conference finals vs. Orlando. The technical resulted in Perkins being ejected from the game and at the time put him over the NBA limit of seven in the playoffs, which meant a one-game suspension. It was later rescinded by the NBA.

Perkins remains on the cusp of a suspension with six technicals in the playoffs.


So how do referees get assigned to the Finals? Here’s Gary Washburn’s Courtside Chatter story in the Globe on Wednesday that explains the process.

The short of it, though, is the NBA takes the 12 highest graded officials from among its 36-ref playoff rotation.

The officials assigned for the previous Finals games were:
Game 1: Joe Crawford, Joe DeRosa, Derrick Stafford
Game 2: Monty McCutcheon, Mike Callahan, Ken Mauer
Game 3: Bennett Salvatore, Bill Kennedy, Dan Crawford

Loading Comments...