Celtics Blog

Brad Stevens Doesn’t Win NBA Coach of the Year


Despite leading the Celtics to a nearly spotless 25-57 record, Boston coach Brad Stevens failed to win the NBA’s Coach of the Year award Tuesday.

San Antonio coach Gregg Popovich (above) walked away with the award, leading the Spurs to an NBA-best 62-20 regular season. He joins Pat Riley and Don Nelson as the only coaches to win the award, named after Celtics patriarch Red Auerbach, three times.

A panel of 124 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada voted for a first, second, and third-place coach. .Suns coach Jeff Hornacek finished second in the voting, followed by Chicago’s Tom Thibodeau, Charlotte’s Steve Clifford, and Toronto’s Dwane Casey.


Terry Stotts, Doc Rivers, Scott Brooks, Mark Jackson, and Jason Kidd also received votes. As for Stevens?

Jump To Comments


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on Boston.com