Here are the watch lists Boston College football players are on

The Eagles kick off their season on Sept. 1.

Running back A.J. Dillon is on the preseason watch list for three awards. –Brett Carlsen/getty file

With the Boston College football season set to kick off Sept. 1, several Eagles have appeared on preseason watch lists for awards.


The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented by the Maxwell Football Club to the top defensive player in the nation. BC senior defensive end Zach Allen and senior defensive back Lukas Denis are on the watch list for this award. Allen put together a dominating season a year ago with 100 tackles, which ranked second nationally among defensive linemen, and led the Eagles with six sacks, earning All-ACC honorable mention. Denis, an Everett native, has been named a Preseason All-American by The Sporting News after being a key member of a BC unit that ranked third nationally in pass efficiency defense in 2017.


Last season’s recipient: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama.


Allen and Denis also appear on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which goes to the nation’s best defensive player as adjudged by the Football Writers Association of America. Former BC standout Luke Kuechly took this honor in 2011.

Last season’s recipient: Bradley Chubb, North Carolina State.


The Wuerffel Trophy is given to the player who best combines exemplary community service with on-the-field and academic performance. Allen is the lone Eagle on this watch list. He is a finance major with a 3.7 GPA.

Last season’s recipient: Courtney Love, Kentucky.


The Jim Thorpe Award recognizes the best defensive back in college football. Denis represents BC on this watch list. The senior was tied for second nationally with seven interceptions in 2017.

Last season’s recipient: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama.


The Maxwell Award is presented to the best player in college football by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, and NCAA head coaches. BC running back A.J. Dillon made the watch list after a season in which he was a Freshman All-American and the ACC Rookie of the Year. Dillon had 1,589 rushing yards, second most by a freshman in ACC history.

Last season’s recipient: Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma.



Dillon also appears on the watch list for the Walter Camp Award, given to the college football Player of the Year as selected by a group of NCAA head coaches and sports information directors, with the help of the Walter Camp Football Foundation. Dillon will look to be the first running back to win since Alabama’s Derrick Henry in 2015.

Last season’s recipient: Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma.


The Doak Walker Award was created in 1989 to recognize the nation’s premier running back for his accomplishments on the field, achievement in the classroom, and citizenship in the community. Dillon appears on this watch list as well, after ranking second nationally among freshmen in rushing a season ago and seventh among all players.

Buy Tickets

Last season’s recipient: Bryce Love, Stanford.


The John Mackey Award is given to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. BC tight end Tommy Sweeney was named to the watch list after a 2017 season in which he was an All-ACC third-team selection. He led the Eagles in receptions (36), receiving yards (512), and receiving touchdowns (4).

Last season’s recipient: Mark Andrews, Oklahoma.


The Outland Trophy is awarded to the top interior lineman in college football. BC senior Chris Lindstrom appears on the watch list after making All-ACC second team in 2017. He was a key cog in an offensive line that helped produce the nation’s 23rd-best rushing offense.

Last season’s recipient: Ed Oliver, Houston.


The Paul Hornung Award is given to the most versatile high-level player in college football. BC senior wide receiver and returner Michael Walker makes the watch list. As a junior in 2017, he led the nation in combined kick- and punt-return yards (1,203) and was named to the All-ACC third team as a return specialist.


Last season’s recipient: Saquon Barkley, Penn State.