College Sports

Boston University men’s lacrosse clinches first-ever Patriot League title

The Terriers, who are in their ninth year, are heading to their first NCAA Tournament.

For the first time in program history, the Boston University men’s lacrosse team is heading to the NCAA Tournament.

The top-seeded Terriers, who are in their ninth year as a program, outlasted Army West Point, 14-10, on Sunday at Nickerson Field in the championship to clinch their first-ever Patriot League title. A thrilling, 13-12, win over Lehigh in the semifinals on Friday made it possible.

The roster features many local players: Jett Dziama (Natick, Noble and Greenough), Anthony Forziati (Wakefield), Jack Collins (Marblehead, Avon Old Farms), Zach Travaglini (Winchester, Belmont Hill), Stephen Gaskill III (Chelsea, Noble and Greenough), Jason Child (Needham), Alex Gainey (Westwood, St. Sebastian’s, Johns Hopkins), Trey Brown (Hopkinton, Belmont Hill), Harry Friedman (Newton, Middlesex), Patrick Morrison (Franklin), and Brian Garrity (Norwell).

Timmy Ley led the way with 4 goals against Army, Roy Meyer scooped up 7 ground balls and caused 6 turnovers, and Matt Garber made 15 saves. The Terriers built a 7-5 halftime lead and used a 5-2 third quarter to seize command before holding the Black Knights off late.


No. 16 BU will find out its NCAA Tournament seed and opponent during the selection show, which airs Sunday at 9 p.m. on ESPNU.


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on