Gold Glove for ‘Tek

A day after winning a Silver Slugger Award, Red Sox catcher Jason Varitek was awarded his first Gold Glove this afternoon.

Varitek had a fielding percentage of .990, with eight errors on the season. He threw out 21 of 86 would-be base stealers, and had seven passed balls.

He becomes the first Red Sox player to win a Gold Glove since 1991, when catcher Tony Pena earned the honor. Varitek is the third catcher to win it, joining Carlton Fisk (1972) and Pena.

Other American League Gold Glove winners included outfielders Ichiro Suzuki, Torii Hunter and Vernon Wells, third baseman Eric Chavez, shortstop Derek Jeter, pitcher Kenny Rogers, first baseman Mark Teixeira, and second baseman Orlando Hudson.

  • The complete list of Red Sox winners, courtesy of the Red Sox:

    1957 — Frank Malzone, 3B #
    1958 — Frank Malzone, 3B, Jimmy Piersall, CF
    1959 — Frank Malzone, 3B, Jackie Jensen, RF
    1963 — Carl Yastrzemski, OF
    1965 — Carl Yastrzemski, OF
    1967 — George Scott, 1B,Carl Yastrzemski, OF
    1968 — George Scott, 1B, Carl Yastrzemski, OF, Reggie Smith, OF
    1969 — Carl Yastrzemski, OF
    1971 — Carl Yastrzemski, OF, George Scott, 1B
    1972 — Carlton Fisk, C, Doug Griffin, 2B,
    1975 — Fred Lynn, OF
    1976 — Dwight Evans, OF
    1977 — Carl Yastrzemski, OF
    1978 — Dwight Evans, OF, Fred Lynn, OF
    1979 — Rick Burleson, SS, Dwight Evans, OF, Fred Lynn, OF
    1980 — Fred Lynn, OF
    1981 — Dwight Evans, OF
    1982 — Dwight Evans, OF
    1983 — Dwight Evans, OF
    1984 — Dwight Evans, OF
    1985 — Dwight Evans, OF
    1990 — Mike Boddicker, P, Ellis Burks, OF
    1991 — Tony Peña, C
    2005 — Jason Varitek, C

    # One major league team Gold Glove team was selected, rather than one for each league

  • Loading Comments...