Opening Day tidbits

A few Opening Day tidbits to whet your appetite before gametime …

  • The Red Sox haven’t won on Opening Day since 2000, when Pedro Martinez pitched an 11-strikeout, seven-inning gem to lead Boston to a 2-0 victory in Seattle. Since then, the Sox have dropped five straight openers, the longest current streak in baseball and second-longest skid in team history.
  • The Sox have been blown out in their last two season openers by a combined score of 16-4. In the three seasons prior to 2004, they lost each of their openers by a single run.
  • Jason Varitek will start at catcher for the Red Sox for the seventh straight Opening Day — the longest streak in team history. In fact, no other catcher has been behind the dish for seven openers, period, never mind consecutively.
  • Remarkably, Mark Loretta will become Boston’s 12th different Opening Day second baseman in the last 13 years. How many can you name? Give it a try before looking at this list:

    2005: Mark Bellhorn
    2004: Bellhorn
    2003: Todd Walker
    2002: Rey Sanchez
    2001: Chris Stynes
    2000: Jose Offerman
    1999: Jeff Frye
    1998: Donnie Sadler
    1997: John Valentin
    1996: Wil Cordero
    1995: Luis Alicea
    1994: Scott Fletcher

  • Varitek, Manny Ramirez and David Ortiz are the sole returnees from the Red Sox’ Opening Day lineup in 2005.
  • Of the 52 players who appeared in at least one game for the Red Sox last year, 15 are on the 2006 Opening Day roster or the disabled list.
  • Loading Comments...