Clarification

For those of you still interested in the ninth-inning play with Casey Blake, first base umpire Chuck Meriweather ruled that the ball hit Blake when Blake was going around. According to the rulebook, that means a strikeout. This was a reversal of the original ruling, which had Blake being hit by a pitch. It was what Terry Francona was arguing for when he went out to speak with the umpires.

Eric Wedge didn’t quite see it that way, but the call stood, and was a huge play, giving the Sox the second out in a ninth inning that could have slipped away from them.

Just seems like all the breaks are going their way right now, doesn’t it?

That’s it for me. ‘Night, everyone.

Advertisement

Loading Comments...

Close
Ski season updates, free from The Boston Globe.
Get the Globe's free newsletter, It's All Downhill, for the latest from the slopes.
Thanks for signing up!
Sports Q
Who is your Red Sox sleeper?
February 22, 2017 | 7:30 AM