Beckett not starting

Manager Jim Leyland named Dan Haren, not Josh Beckett, as the American League starter for tomorrow night’s All-Star game in San Francisco.

“There should be absolutely no argument,” said the Globe’s Bob Ryan from the newsroom on Morrissey Boulevard. “The right guy got picked.”

Sox DH David Ortiz will bat third in the AL lineup, and play first base.

Jim Leyland’s American League lineup:

1. Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners, CF
2. Derek Jeter, Yankees, SS
3. David Ortiz, Red Sox, 1B
4. Alex Rodriguez, Yankees, 3B
5. Vladimir Guerrero, Angels, RF
6. Magglio Ordonez, Tigers, LF
7. Ivan Rodriguez, Tigers, C
8. Placido Polanco, Tigers, 2B
9. Dan Haren, A’s, P


Tony La Russa’s National League batting order:

1. Jose Reyes, Mets, SS
2. Barry Bonds, Giants, LF
3. Carlos Beltran, Mets, CF
4. Ken Griffey Jr., Reds, RF
5. David Wright, Mets, 3B
6. Prince Fielder, Brewers, 1B
7. Russell Martin, Dodgers, C
8. Chase Utley, Phillies, 2B
9. Jake Peavey, Padres, P

Loading Comments...