AL Cy Young awarded today

The American League Cy Young will be awarded today at 2 p.m. (we’ll post the results here) in what is expected to be a tight race between Red Sox ace Josh Beckett and the Indians’ C.C. Sabathia.

Beckett was the majors’ only 20-game winner during the regular season, posting a 20-7 record with a 3.27 ERA. Sabathia was equally as dominant, with a 19-7 record and a 3.21 ERA.

Beckett beat Sabathia twice in the ALCS and had one of the most dominant postseasons of all time (4-0 with a 1.20 ERA), but the voting for the Cy Young took place before the postseason.


If Beckett wins it, it would make the Red Sox two for two in the last two days. Second baseman Dustin Pedroia was named the AL’s Rookie of the Year yesterday.

Here’s a look at the rest of this week’s baseball awards schedule:

Nov. 13: AL Cy Young
Nov. 14: AL and NL Managers of the Year
Nov. 15: NL Cy Young
Nov. 19: AL MVP
Nov. 20: NL MVP

Check out Nick Cafardo’s award predictions.

Loading Comments...