Extra Bases

Rays leave off Percival and Jackson

ST, PETERSBURG, Fla. – What had been rumored for a few days became official today when the Rays’ final American League Divisional playoff roster did not include closer Troy Percival or starter Edwin Jackson.

Percival has been ineffective and has no saves since August 14. Dan Wheeler will likely get most of the closing opportunities. The Rays didn’t see a role for Jackson, a fifth starter.

Here’s the Rays’ roster:

  • Pitchers (10): Grant Balfour, Chad Bradford, Matt Garza, J.P. Howell, Scott Kazmir, Trever Miller, David Price, James Shields, Andy Sonnanstine, Dan Wheeler.
  • Catchers (2): Michael Hernandez, Dioner Navarro.
  • Infielders (6): Willy Aybar, Ben Zobrist, Jason Bartlett, Akinori Iwamura, Evan Longoria, Carlos Pena.
  • Outfielders (7): Rocco Baldelli, Carl Crawford, Cliff Floyd, Gabe Gross, Eric Hinske, Fernando Perez, B.J. Upton.

    A few other notes:

  • Joe Maddon was asked at what level did he rev up “Start Me Up” by the Stones this morning.

    “As loud as I could handle. Zim (Rays senior adviser Don Zimmer) was in the other room so I have to be respectful of Zim. Had it been Guy Lombardo or Tony Bennett I could have turned it up a little louder.”

  • Ozzie was asked why he went with Dewayne Wise over Nick Swisher in left field. Ozzie replied, “Well, Wise for a couple of reasons. I think he’s been playing for a couple of weeks and I think he’s been playing well. He brings to the ballclub something we don’t have: his better defense and more speed. I think, to me, he gives us pretty good at-bats.”
  • Ozzie, on his ffection for Mark Buehrle, who will pitch in Game 2 tomorrow.

    “A lot of people talk about [Johan] Santana and C.C. Sabathia come out on three days’ rest for like five different times. He [Buehrle] did it, too, and nobody gave him any credit….I think the reason we are in the playoffs, and we would like to start him today, but we set the rotation with Javy Vazquez) first.”…

  • Buehrle on prognosticators who give the White Sox no respect:

    “I guess they’re the same people that had us and the Rays here right now. They’re just making predictions. We’ll go out there and prove people wrong.”…

  • You get to watch and listen to NESN’s Don Orsillo with a new second base partner, Harold Reynolds, on TBS today. The hardworking Orsillo stayed at the ballaprk for hours Tuesday for both workouts…..
  • Today’s ChiSox starter, Javier Vazquez needs four wins to tie Juan Pizarro (131) for most wins by a Puerto Rican pitcher…
  • Here’s some fun stuff from Bill Chuck, a frequent contributor to my Sunday baseball notes column:


    This is is the first time in 102 years that both Chicago teams will be in the postseason.

    After 771 major league games, Jason Bay played in his first postseason game last night and homered.

    The Phillies won their first postseason game since the 1993 World Series against Toronto.

    Brad Lidge picked up his first postseason save since Oct. 16, 2005, with Houston. The next day, he gave up a game-winning three-run homer to the Cardinals’ Albert Pujols in Game 5 of the NL Championship Series.

    The Dodgers won the first game of the postseason on the road for just the fourth time in their history. Each of the previous three times, the Dodgers reached the World Series (including 1963, when the first game of the postseason was the World Series).

    The White Sox beat three different teams on three consecutive days to make the postseason. That’s a first.


    The last Philly championship was in 1983 when the NBA’s 76ers won it all. The last Phillies championship was 1980.

    Derek Lowe went 4-0 with an 0.50 earned run average in his last six starts.

    The Phillies ended a streak of four consecutive postseason losses; their last win was Game 5 of the 1993 World Series against the Blue Jays.

    Milwaukee’s last postseason victory was against St. Louis on Oct. 17, 1982, in Game 5 of the World Series.

    Last laughs for Joe Torre, his streak of consecutive seasons making the postseason continued while his former employer’s did not.

    Boston’s Fenway Park opened April 20, 1912.
    Chicago’s Wrigley Field opened on April 20, 1916
    Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium opened on April 10, 1962.
    Anaheim’s Angel Stadium of Anaheim opened on April 19, 1966.
    Chicago’s U.S. Cellular Field opened on April 18, 1991.
    St Petersburg’s Tropicana Field hosted their first Rays game on March 31, 1998.
    Milwaukee’s Miller Park opened on March 30, 2001.
    Philadelphia’s Citizens Bank Park opened April 12, 2004.

    1. Jason Bay of Trail, B.C.
    2. Ryan Dempster of Gibsons, B.C.,
    3. Rich Harden of Victoria, B.C.
    4. Russell Martin of Chelsea, Que.
    5. Matt Stairs of St. John, New Brunswick
    6. Eric Gagne of Mascouche, Que.

  • Conversation

    This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on Boston.com