Award for Youkilis

Kevin Youkilis was selected by fans as the American League winner of the 2008 Sharp presents Hank Aaron Award, which recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league. Chicago’s Aramis Ramirez was chosen in the National League.

Youkilis set career-highs with a .312 batting average (ranking 6th in the American League), 168 hits, 43 doubles, and Club-high totals of 29 home runs and 115 RBI (4th, A.L.). He averaged an RBI per 4.7 at-bats, the best ratio in the A.L., and he also batted .374 with runners in scoring position. His .569 slugging percentage ranked third in the A.L., his 76 extra-base hits were fourth and his .390 on-base percentage was sixth.


Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000); Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds (2001, 2002); Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols (2003); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); and Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007).

Loading Comments...