Extra Bases

Who deserves to be elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame?

Get Adobe Flash player

The question posed on the latest installment of Globe 10.0 video is a great topic of debate for an off-week during the offseason.

The Baseball Writers Association of America has polled its 575 voting members on the subject and the results of this year’s election are due on Jan. 6 at 2 p.m. There are 15 new candidates among the nominees this year, including 10-time Gold Glove winner Roberto Alomar, 1995 NL MVP Barry Larkin, 1996 AL Cy Young Award winner Pat Hentgen, 1994 All-Star Game MVP Fred McGriff and 1992 and 1995 AL batting champ Edgar Martinez.


Players need to be on 75 percent of the ballots cast to be elected. Last year, Jim Rice and Rickey Henderson were elected.

While the baseball writers can vote for as many as 10 players, unfortunately our poll system only allows one vote per user, so we’ll have to limit our voting to the single player you’d most like to see get in this year.

Jump To Comments


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on Boston.com