Extra Bases

Swisher takes the lead on Youkilis

This from Major League Baseball:

Nick Swisher of the Yankees and Joey Votto of the Reds topped the early returns from the more than 10 million votes registered in the opening 24 hours of the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote.

Swisher led a tightly-contested race for the American League’s final roster spot, followed closely by Kevin Youkilis of the Red Sox; Michael Young of the Rangers; Paul Konerko of the White Sox; and Delmon Young of the Twins.

On the National League ballot, Votto grabbed the top spot out of the gate over the other four candidates, narrowly ahead of Ryan Zimmerman of the Nationals; Billy Wagner of the Braves; Carlos Gonzalez of the Rockies; and Heath Bell of the Padres.


The ninth annual All-Star Game Final Vote ballot commenced exclusively on MLB.com and the individual club sites at 1 p.m. (EDT) yesterday and will continue until balloting concludes at 4 p.m. (EDT) on Thursday.

To vote go to MLB.com

Jump To Comments


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on Boston.com