AL Gold Glove winners announced

American League Gold Gloves

Catcher: Joe Mauer (Twins)
First base: Mark Teixeira (Yankees)
Second base: Robinson Cano (Yankees)
Shortstop: Derek Jeter (Yankees)
Third base: Even Longoria (Rays),
Outfield: Ichiro Suzuki (Mariners), Carl Crawford (Rays), Franklin Gutierrez (Mariners)
Pitcher: Mark Buehrle (White Sox)

NL winners announced tomorrow.

Notes: The Red Sox have gone two years without a winner. … These are voted on by the managers and coaches. … Jeter winning is a bit comical considering he’s simply not a very good shortstop and is arguably one of the worst given his lack of range. UZR is not necessarily an accurate stat for one season. But he was seventh in the AL among qualifying shortstops. Jeter did not get a single vote in the Fielding Bible Awards, which reflect much more statistically driven opinion. And those guys vote 10 spots. … Prepare for much outrage over the Jeter pick but I doubt Rawlings or MLB will change the rules. It’s a ridiculous, flawed process and has been for a while.


Beyond Jeter, I can’t argue with any of the picks. Daric Barton probably had a better year than Teixeira and Franklin Gutierrez wasn’t as good in 2010 as he was in ’09. I’d have voted for Austin Jackson.

Loading Comments...


Get the latest sports alerts sent directly to your phone. Download our free app.