Gillick selected for Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame veterans committee just announced that long-time GM and executive Pat Gillick was their lone choice.

He will be inducted on July 24 along with any players selected by the BBWAA. That vote will be revealed on Jan. 5.

MLBPA organizer Marvin Miller fell short by one vote. George Steinbrenner did not come close.

The Results of the Expansion Era Ballot (12 votes needed for election): Pat Gillick (13 votes); Marvin Miller (11 votes); Dave Concepcion (8 votes); Ted Simmons, Vida Blue, Steve Garvey, Ron Guidry, Tommy John, Billy Martin, Al Oliver, Rusty Staub and George Steinbrenner each received less than eight votes.


Loading Comments...