Extra Bases

Ted Williams claims Greatest Red Sox title


As expected, Ted Williams emerged as the champion of our Greatest Red Sox Ever tournament.

The final matchup came down to Williams and Carl Yastrzemski — also as expected — but Williams was the runaway winner by a vote of 2,495 to 514.

The real fun, like a good road trip, was in getting there, and our intention was for the contest to provide some interesting conversation-starters. The seedings and early round voting led to matchups like David Ortiz vs. Nomar Garciaparra, Carlton Fisk vs. Fred Lynn, and Luis Tiant vs. Dwight Evans.

Dewey made a surprising run to the Final Four, and he managed the only upset of a No. 1 seed, knocking out Roger Clemens in the third round before losing to Williams in the semifinals.


Stay tuned. More bracket-style contests are planned in the near future.

Check the final voting and review the tournament at the bracket page.


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on Boston.com