Gold Gloves for Ellsbury, Gonzalez and Pedroia

Center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury, first baseman Adrian Gonzalez and second baseman Dustin Pedroia were Gold Glove winners in the American League according to the Associated Press.

It the first Gold Glove for Ellsbury to go along with his AL comeback player of the year award. It was the third for Gonzalez, the first two coming with San Diego and the second for Pedroia.

All three players were coming off significant injuries. Ellsbury played only 18 games in 2010 because of fractured ribs. Gonzalez had offseason surgery to repair a torn labrum in his right shoulder and Pedroia missed the final three months of the 2010 season with a broken left foot.


The Sox have not had three Gold Glove winners in a season since 1979 when Rick Burleson, Dwight Evans and Fred Lynn won.

Gonzalez was on the ESPN show when the awards were announced.

“It feels great. It’s pretty awesome hearing Dustin won as well. It’s pretty awesome playing along side him. Being able to win in both leagues I’m pretty grateful to everyone who voted for me,” he said.

“I always say pitching and defense is what’s going to win championships. I take a lot of pride in it. I try to be a complete player. You can alawys go into offensive slumps, but defense is something that should never leave you.”

Regarding the 2012 season, Gonzalez said, “My only thoughts right now are trying to do what St.Louis did this year and that’s winning a world championship. The only thing on my mind right now is trying to help the team. Hopefully we’ll come in hungrier than we were this year.”

2011 Gold Glove winners
American League
P—Mark Buehrle, Chicago White Sox
C—Matt Wieters, Baltimore
1B—Adrian Gonzalez, Boston
2B—Dustin Pedroia, Boston
SS—Erick Aybar, L.A. Angels
3B—Adrian Beltre, Texas
LF—Alex Gordon, Kansas City
CF—Jacoby Ellsbury, Boston
RF—Nick Markakis, Baltimore


National League
P—Clayton Kershaw, L.A. Dodgers
C—Yadier Molina, St. Louis
1B—Joey Votto, Cincinnati
2B—Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati
SS—Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado
3B—Placido Polanco, Philadelphia
LF—Gerardo Parra, Arizona
CF—Matt Kemp, L.A. Dodgers
RF—Andre Ethier, L.A. Dodgers

Loading Comments...