Verlander wins Cy Young; Beckett is ninth

MILWAUKEE — Justin Verlander of the Tigers, as expected, was a unanimous winner of the Cy Young Award.

Verlander joins Johan Santana (2004, ’06), Pedro Martinez (1999, 2000), Roger Clemens (1986, 1998) and Denny McClain (1968) as the only unanimous winners in AL history.

Verlander was 24-5 with a 2.40 ERA and a 0.92 WHIP. He struck out 250 in 251 innings and had a WAR of 8.6.

Jered Weaver was second and James Shields third. Josh Beckett of the Red Sox was ninth, receiving three fifth-place votes.


Loading Comments...

Ski season updates, free from The Boston Globe.
Get the Globe's free newsletter, It's All Downhill, for the latest from the slopes.
Thanks for signing up!
Sports Q
Who is your Red Sox sleeper?
February 22, 2017 | 7:30 AM